SeaDoo Spark Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, while riding my 2018 spark trixx yesterday it made some wild grinding sounds and then wouldn't go anywhere..... I thought it was the impeller so I got it home and took it apart but when I removed the impeller pump, the whole drive shaft came out with it. I'm new to the jet ski world so I'm not sure if the shaft is supposed to come out that easy? The machine only has right at 10hrs

Attachments

·
Registered
84 Posts
Did somebody run over something. Yes the driveshaft comes out after the pump is removed.

Can I ask the obvious question....why didnt you take it to the dealer for warranty?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well I thought it was just the impeller so I was going to replace it myself. My dealer would take forever to get it fixed, but with this drive shaft problem I will take it for warranty. Not sure if they'll fight me for warranty work with the impeller being chewed on a little

·
Registered
319 Posts
Your splines are trashed on the crankshaft as well as the driveshaft. The boot holds the drivesshaft in but yours is clearly torn apart from the driveshaft stripping out. Put it all back together and let the dealer take care of it because it will need the engine pulled out to replace the pto adapter.

·
Registered
45 Posts
wizzer,
I understand what you state above. What would cause the shaft splines to strip out? Lodged impeller?...and the motor won?

·
Registered
319 Posts